Français | Contact | Press
Home page > Past collections > Past permanent collections-MUSEUM CLOSED FOR GOOD > MUSEUM COLLECTIONS CLOSED FOR GOOD > Room 1

 Room 1

The XIXth Century




Doll has been one of the most constant representation of Men since the begining of times. Many civilisation have created dolls that have had various functions throught times: from fetich to divinatory, from fashion model to decorative object, from tourist souvenir to children toy. The XIXth Century has been the period when the Occidental civilisation has produced the most beautiful dolls made for children play and education. It is during that golden age that today’s most collectible dolls have been made.

Among dolls here are examples carved from wood, other molded in pasteboard, "empeaussées dolls" from Louis- Philippe era, fashion dolls that were made during the Second Empire, original miniature pocket dolls plus the first bathing babies or the wax dolls that Countess de Segur described so well in Les Malheurs de Sophie. Every type of doll from the first three quarters of the nineteenth century can be found in this room.

This space reveals the golden age of the bisque head bébé. Prestigious French firms, such as Jumeau, Bru, Steiner, Gaultier dominated the last quarter of the nineteenth century by exporting their production worldwide are presented as well as the ones that dominated this industrial and craft sector in Germany : Simon & Halbig, Kestner, Kämmer & Reinhardt, Kuhnlenz and Bähr & Pröschild.


Free museum audio guide:


The Museum has a free audio guide in French and English by Samy Odin, founder of the museum.
https://izi.travel/fr/3f0e-musee-de…

How does it work? It’s very easy:
download the app izi.TRAVEL on your smartphone, before your visit and listen to Samy Odin telling you about the story of the museum, dolls and also the museum shop, the dolls and plush hospital, activities…

This app is free and also works out of connection and is available on App Store, Google play and Windows Phone Store.

JPEG - 91 kb
JPEG - 89.2 kb



MUSÉE DE LA POUPÉE

IMPASSE BERTHAUD
75003 PARIS
Rambuteau

mail : 28 rue Beaubourg

01 42 72 73 11

Access




f t G izi
+ : Contact | Press | Links | Site Map |
© MUSÉE DE LA POUPÉE IMPASSE BERTHAUD 75003 PARIS Rambuteau mail : 28 rue Beaubourg 01 42 72 73 11

Legal notices G izi

English | Contact | Presse
Accueil du site > Collections > Archives des collection du musée - MUSÉE DÉFINITIVEMENT FERMÉ > ARCHIVES DES COLLECTIONS DU MUSÉE DÉFINITIVEMENT FERMÉ > Salle 1

 Salle 1

Le XIX siècle




La poupée est une des représentations de l’homme les plus constantes depuis la nuit des temps. De nombreuses civilisations ont créé des poupées qui ont eu, au fil du temps, des fonctions diverses, du fétiche à l’objet divinatoire, du mannequin à l’objet décoratif, du souvenir touristique au jouet d’enfant. Le siècle durant lequel la civilisation occidentale a fabriqué ses plus belles poupées destinées au jeu et à l’éducation des enfants est le XIX siècle. C’est durant cet âge d’or que les poupées les plus appréciées aujourd’hui en tant qu’objets de collection ont été fabriquées.

Des poupées en bois sculpté aux poupards en carton bouilli, des ‘poupées empeaussées’ de l’époque Louis-Philippe aux parisiennes du Second Empire, des premières poupées de poche aux mignonnettes, sans oublier les premiers baigneurs tout en porcelaine ou les poupées de cire, que la comtesse de Ségur décrivait si bien dans Les Malheurs de Sophie, chaque type de poupée du XIX siècle est réuni ici.

Cette période correspond à l’âge d’or des poupées et bébés à tête en biscuit. Des firmes prestigieuses françaises telles que Jumeau, Bru, Steiner, Gaultier… qui ont dominé le dernier quart du XIX siècle, en faisant rayonner la production française dans le monde entier, sont évoquées tout comme celles qui, en Allemagne, ont dominé ce secteur industriel et artisanal : Simon & Halbig, Kestner, Kämmer & Reinhardt, Kuhnlenz, Bähr & Pröschild…

Audioguide du musée gratuit :


Le Musée propose un audioguide gratuit, en français et en anglais par Samy Odin, le fondateur du musée.
https://izi.travel/fr/3f0e-musee-de…

Comment faire ? C’est très simple : téléchargez, sur votre smartphone, l’appli izi.TRAVEL avant votre visite et écoutez Samy Odin vous raconter l’histoire du musée et des poupées, sa boutique, sa clinique pour poupées et peluches, ses animations…

Cette application est gratuite, fonctionne également hors connection et est disponible sur l’App Store, Google play et Windows Phone Store.

JPEG - 91 ko
JPEG - 89.2 ko



MUSÉE DE LA POUPÉE

IMPASSE BERTHAUD
75003 PARIS
Rambuteau

courrier : 28 rue Beaubourg

01 42 72 73 11

Plan d'accès




f t G izi
+ : Contact | Presse | Liens | Plan du site |
© MUSÉE DE LA POUPÉE IMPASSE BERTHAUD 75003 PARIS Rambuteau courrier : 28 rue Beaubourg 01 42 72 73 11

Mentions légales G izi